The Institute of Digital Art announces Winners of the digital sculpture award 2016. The first call for entries for this new format of digital art has been a wide success. Picking a winner from over one hundred entries was not easy for the jury. Places one, two and three are awarded with a prize money in total of 5000 euro. Additionally seven other artists will be included in the shortlist of this award. The artwork of these winners will be shown at an exhibition held by the museum of Ulm in early 2018.

1. Friedemann Banz & Giulia Bowinkel
    Daemons (Germany)
2. Nicolo Kraettli & Jann Erhard
    Videoversteinerung (Switzerland)
3. Morehshin Allahyari
    She Who Sees The Unknown (USA)

Shortlist (alphabetical)
– Jörg Brinkmann – Deepshirt (Germany)
– George Cringasu – Aether-Generated Masses (Romania)
– Nieves de la Fuente GuIérrez – Caracaballo (Spain)
– Marcel Karnapke – Chrono Volumetrics (Germany)
– Leonard Kern – SpaceAgents (Germany)
– Martina Menegon – Virtual Narcissism (Austria)
– Marjan Moghaddam – Art Hacked #Digitalbodies (USA)

Dr. Ursula Ströbele (Universität der Künste Berlin)
Tina Sauerländer (
Dr. Stefanie Dathe (Ulmer Museum)
Prof. Otto Wolff (HfK+G Stuttgart)
Prof. Simon Gallus (Institute of digital art)


Videodocumentation of the jury day with a short statement of the judges.

Gallery Award-Winning Works